Since our 2015 Synod, Standing Committee has met three times. Members of the Committee are:

Thresi Mauboy Wohangarra Matjarra Garrawurra

Peter Jones Kirsty Burgu

Djawanydjawany Gondarra

Bruce Slater

Barry Hansen

David Mirrwana

Lee Levett Olson

Felicity Amery

Jemma Whittaker

Louise MacDonald

Ken Minyipirriwuy Garrawurra Steve Orme

Chris Paine

Matters considered by the Standing Committee included:

Policy development of Northern Synod Ethical, Legal and Commercial Decisionmaking Guidelines

This was the major activity of the Committee, it being worked on each Committee meeting. Thanks to Mark Zirnsak, Director of the Justice and International Mission Unit, Synod of Victoria-Tasmania and Basil Schild for resourcing our conversation. Synod approval of the policy is on this meeting's agenda.

2. Woolworths Petrol Station

The General Secretary provided updates, the latest being that the NT Development Consent Authority met on 3 June 2016, their decision is not yet known. Given the number of objections it would not be surprising if the application was refused.

3. Kidney Disease in the Northern Synod

Steve Orme provided updates on the situation in the APY Lands. Work continues in conjunction with the Synod of South Australia.

4. Imprisonment rates

Synod 2015 passed a resolution concerning the rate of imprisonment of Indigenous people. NRCC through Jo Mar and Synod through the WA Synod has sought to retain funding for prison chaplaincy in Derby and to offer release packs to prisoners.

5. Sign at front of the Synod Office

The Committee considered whether we could have a sign at the Synod Office facing onto the Stuart Highway on which messages, eg "Asylum seekers welcome", could be displayed. It was clarified that NT Road Networks and Darwin City Council permission could not be obtained.

6. Closure of Homeland Centres

Updates from General Secretary and NRCC were provided at each meeting with the request this matter remains on the SSC agenda. It remains unclear as to whether the closures may occur.

7. Assembly Disaster Recovery Officer

Rev Dr Stephen Robinson, the Assembly Disaster Recovery Officer will be visiting in the second half of 2016 to workshop cyclone and flood disaster procedures.

8. St Philips College - Change of Governance

The conversation with St Philips regarding change of governance has been placed on hold as requested by the St Philip's Board.

9. Safe Church and the Royal Commission Child Sex Abuse Task Group

Helen Paine made two presentations concerning development of the Safe Church manual. Approval of overarching policies will be sought later in the Synod meeting.

10. Letters of Comfort

Standing Committee determined it wished to have reported to it the number of letters of Comfort the FAPS Committee had issued. Currently there is one Letter of Comfort to Kormilda College.

Each meeting the Moderator and General Secretary also provided updated reports. The administrative support provided by Roslyn Henry is muchly appreciated.

Peter Jones
General Secretary